Set as a ‘gateway’ to the Dublin Mountains, a new €19 million visitor centre has been proposed at the site of the infamous Hellfire Club.
The South Dublin County Council’s plans for the site include an exhibition space and a gift shop, as well as a stunning glass fronted cafe, which will provide guests with striking views across the Dublin Bay.
There are also plans for a tree top canopy footbridge, taking visitors from Massy’s Wood Forests over to the Old Military Road.
The Hellfire Club building itself will also be open to the public at specific times, although the council has requested an environmental assessment to address safety issues from the public. The 18th century building will also be undergoing some conservation work.
The Hellfire Club in Dublin was established by Richard Parsons, the first Earl of Rosse, in 1735. The club became associated with excessive drinking, depravity and even worshiping of the Devil. the president of the Hell Fire Club was named ‘The King of Hell’ and was dressed like Satan, with horns, wings and cloven hooves.
Today the remains of the building are believed by some to be haunted.
Image credits to Jason Rogers Flickr cc