Skip to main content

Winners of the 2014 IAAPA Brass Ring Awards

News

The International Association of Amusement Parks and Attractions (IAAPA) presented the IAAPA Brass Ring Awards on Nov. 19 during IAAPA Attractions Expo 2014 in Orlando, Florida.

The awards were presented to amusement parks, water parks, zoos, aquariums, museums, family entertainment centers (FECs), and suppliers from around the world to honor excellence in food and beverage, games and retail, human resources, live entertainment, marketing, new products, and family entertainment centers.  

The tradition of the brass ring dates back to the 1800s when rings were suspended above carousel riders; low enough for them to grasp, but high enough to pose a challenge. Most rings were made of iron, but a few were made of brass, so grabbing the brass ring was a cherished prize. 

The IAAPA Brass Ring Awards mark achievements of excellence throughout the global attractions industry.

The 2014 IAAPA Brass Ring Award Winners:

TOP FAMILY ENTERTAINMENT CENTER (FEC) OF THE WORLD AWARD

Winner, North America: Boondocks Food & Fun, Kaysville, Utah, United States; www.boondocks.com
Winner, International: TimeZone Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia; www.timezonegoldcoast.com.au

FOOD AND BEVERAGE EXCELLENCE

Best New Innovation in Food and Beverage: “Ferris Wheel Dining, ” Luna Park Sydney, Sydney, Australia; www.lunaparksydney.com
Best New Menu Item: “Flavored Kettle Corn, ” Silver Dollar City, Branson, Missouri, United States; www.silverdollarcity.com

GAMES AND RETAIL EXCELLENCE

Best Game Experience: “Old Hong Kong Coca-Cola Ring Toss, ” Ocean Park Corporation, Aberdeen, Hong Kong; www.oceanpark.com.hk
Best Game Operator: Kiane King, Busch Gardens Tampa, Tampa, Florida, United States; seaworldparks.com/en/buschgardens-tampa
Hard Good Over 1 Million Attendance: “Build a Mini, ” Legoland Florida, Winter Haven, Florida, United States; florida.legoland.com
Hard Good Under 1 Million Attendance: Magic Memories Photobook, San Francisco Dungeon, San Francisco, California, United States; sanfrancisco.thedungeons.com
Merchandise Display Over 1 Million Attendance: “Fashion Surfer, ” Europa-Park, Rust, Baden, Germany; www.europapark.de
Merchandise Display Under 1 Million Attendance: “Little Grey Fergie, ” Kongeparken, Aalgard, Norway; www.kongeparken.no/hjem
Soft Good Over 1 Million Attendance: “Bear Hug Kids Hoodie, ” Sea World Australia, Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia; seaworld.com.au
Soft Good Under 1 Million Attendance: “Paintable Africam Gang T-Shirt, ” Africam Safari, Puebla, Mexico; www.africamsafari.com
Judge’s Choice Award: “artBOX, ” Morey's Piers and Beachfront Water Parks, Wildwood, New Jersey, United States; www.moreyspiers.com

HUMAN RESOURCES EXCELLENCE

Best Employee Reward and Recognition Program Over 1 Million Attendance: Ocean Park Corporation, Aberdeen, Hong Kong; www.oceanpark.com.hk
Best Employee Reward & Recognition Program  Under 1 Million Attendance: Luna Park Sydney, Sydney, Australia; www.lunaparksydney.com
Best Innovation in a Training Program Over 1 Million Attendance: Ocean Park Corporation, Hong Kong, Aberdeen, Hong Kong; www.oceanpark.com.hk
Best Innovation in a Training Program Under 1 Million Attendance: Rainbow's End, Auckland, New Zealand; rainbowsend.co.nz

LIVE ENTERTAINMENT EXCELLENCE

The Heart Beat Award recognizes the show that demonstrates superior overall ability in reaching the hearts of its audience.       
Winner: “Angels of Peace, ” Busch Gardens Tampa, Tampa, Florida, United States; http://seaworldparks.com/en/buschgardens-tampa

The Spirit Award recognizes IAAPA members committed to excellence in training and professional development in the area of entertainment.

Winner: Cody Chambers, Triple Play Family Fun Park, Hayden, Idaho, United States; www.3play.com 
Best Female Performer: Cassie Bowerman, SeaWorld San Diego, San Diego, California, United States; http://seaworldparks.com/en/seaworld-sandiego 
Best Male Performer: Ronald Buchanan, Six Flags America, Upper Marlboro, Maryland, United States; www.sixflags.com/america
Best Atmosphere/Street Show Performance Act: “Amazing Sesame Street, ” Universal Studios Japan, Osaka, Japan; www.usj.co.jp/e
Best Live Edutainment Show: “Animals on Safari, ” Columbus Zoo and Aquarium, Columbus, Ohio, United States; www.columbuszoo.org 
Best Sports Show: “Kinetix 2014, ” Busch Gardens Tampa, Tampa, Florida, United States; http://seaworldparks.com/en/buschgardens-tampa

Note: Awards categories are broken down by the size of the production budget for the show.

Best Multimedia Spectacular: “Once Upon A Time, ” Tokyo Disneyland, Tokyo, Japan;  www.tokyodisneyresort.jp/en
Best Overall Production, $25, 000 or Less: “Samsara, ” Ocean Park Corporation, Aberdeen, Hong Kong; www.oceanpark.com.hk 
Best Overall Production, $25, 001–$50, 000: “Nick Norton – Phantasm, ” Silverwood Theme Park – Boulder Beach Water Park, Athol, Idaho, United States; www.silverwoodthemepark.com 
Best Overall Production, $50, 001–$100, 000: “Love at First Fright, ” Six Flags Great America, Gurnee, Illinois, United States; www.sixflags.com/greatamerica
Best Overall Production, $100, 001–$200, 000: “Surpr'ice in the Jungle, ” Europa-Park, Rust, Baden, Germany; www.europapark.de/en
Best Overall Production, $200, 001–$400, 000: “Sesame Street Saves Christmas, ” Universal Studios Singapore, Singapore; www.rwsentosa.com/Homepage/Attractions/UniversalStudiosSingapore
Best Overall Production, $400, 001–$700, 000: “Dollywood’s A Christmas Carol, ” Dollywood, Pigeon Forge, Tennessee, United States; www.dollywood.com
Best Overall Production, $700, 001– $1 million: “One Piece Premier Show, ” Universal Studios Japan, Osaka, Japan; www.usj.co.jp/e 
Best Overall Production, Over $1 Million: “Ashley Wuhu, ” Fantawild Dreamland Park, Fantawild International Limited, Shenzhen, China

MARKETING EXCELLENCE

*Some marketing awards are divided into the following class distinctions: Class 1: Family Entertainment Centers (FECs) and attractions with annual attendance less than 250, 000, Class 2: Zoos and Aquariums, Class 3: Amusement Parks and Attractions—including Water Parks—with annual attendance of 250, 001-1 million, Class 4: Amusement Parks and Attractions—including Water Parks—with annual attendance of more than 1 million.

Digital Marketing Campaign: Village Roadshow Theme Parks, Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia; www.villageroadshow.com.au
Integrated Marketing Campaign: Liseberg, Gothenburg, Sweden; liseberg.se
Outdoor Advertisement: Selvatica, Cancun, Quintana Roo, Mexico; selvatica.com.mx
Public Relations Program Class 1: Silver Dollar City’s White Water, Branson, Missouri, United States; www.silverdollarcity.com/white-water.aspx
Public Relations Program Class 2: Delphinus, Cancun, Quintana Roo, Mexico; www.delphinusworld.com
Public Relations Program Class 3: Elitch Gardens Theme and Water Park, Denver, Colorado, United States; www.elitchgardens.com
Public Relations Program Class 4: Great Wolf Lodge, Madison, Wisconsin, United States; www.greatwolf.com
Radio Commercial Class 1: Adventure Landing, Jacksonville Beach, Florida, United States; www.adventurelanding.com
Radio Commercial Class 2: Africam Safari, Puebla, Mexico; www.africamsafari.com
Radio Commercial Class 3: Kentucky Kingdom, Louisville, Kentucky, United States; www.kentuckykingdom.com
Radio Commercial Class 4: Dollywood, Pigeon Forge, Tennessee, United States; www.dollywood.com
Social Media Campaign: Dolphin Discovery, Cancun, Quintana Roo, Mexico; www.dolphindiscovery.com
Television Commercial Class 1: Boondocks Food & Fun, Draper, Utah, United States; www.boondocks.com
Television Commercial Class 2: Utah's Hogle Zoo, Salt Lake City, Utah, United States; www.hoglezoo.org
Television Commercial Class 3: Luna Park Sydney, Sydney, Australia; www.lunaparksydney.com
Television Commercial Class 4: Europa-Park, Rust, Baden, Germany; www.europapark.de

BEST NEW PRODUCT

Impact Award recognizes the best new product or service in the amusement parks and attractions industry.

Winner:  Triotech, Wonder Mountain’s Guardian, Montreal, Quebec, Canada; www.trio-tech.com

Major Theme/Amusement Park Ride/Attraction: Triotech, Wonder Mountain’s Guardian, Montreal, Quebec, Canada; www.trio-tech.com
Kiddie Ride/Attraction: MP Group SRL, ECO GAME, Reggio Emilia, Italy; www.memopark.it
Water Park Ride/Attraction: Proslide Technology, Inc., BehemothBOWL 40 + TornadoWAVE, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; www.proslide.com 
Family Entertainment Center Ride/Attraction: Amusement Products, LLC, Lazer Fury 360, Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States; www.amusementproducts.com 
Technology Applied to Amusements: 3DMe Photo Solutions, 3DMe Coin-operated Photo Booth, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong; www.3dme.info 
Coin-Operated Arcade and Redemption Equipment: Team Play, Inc., Fishbowl Frenzy, Elk Grove Village, Illinois, United States; www.teamplayinc.com 
Revenue and Admission Control/Wristbands/RFID Technology: accesso, accesso Passport eCommerce solution, Lake Mary, Florida, United States; www.accesso.com 
Services, Equipment, and Supplies: Water Safety Products, Inc., ValuStair Second Generation, Indian Harbour Beach, Florida, United States; www.watersafety.com 
Games and Merchandise: Big T Toys & Sports, Helmet Heads, Riverside, California, United States; www.wholesalesportsshop.com 
Food Services: Scara’s Italian Ices, Inc., Scara’s Soft Serve Italian Ice Base, Patterson, New Jersey, United States; www.scaras.com 
Show Production and Entertainment/Displays and Sets: Jack Rouse Associates, Grand Hall Experience at Union Station, Cincinnati, Ohio, United States; www.jackrouse.com
Themed Exhibit Design for Zoos, Aquariums, and Museums: WhiteWater West, custom themed AquaPlay RainFortress, Richmond, British Columbia, Canada; www.whitewaterwest.com

BEST EXHIBIT AT IAAPA ATTRACTIONS EXPO 2014

The Image Award is given to the best exhibit based on booth design, branding, staffing, and overall appeal at IAAPA Attractions Expo. 

Winner: Rhode Island Novelty- Namco, Fall River, Massachusetts, United States; www.rinovelty.com 

100 – 399 square feet: The Works Unlimited, Inc., Orlando, Florida, United States; www.theworksunlimited.com 
400 – 499 square feet: Honolulu Hot Dog Company, Inc., Celebration, Florida, United States; www.honoluluhotdog.com 
500 – 899 square feet: Sally Corporation, Jacksonville, Florida, United States; www.sallycorp.com 
900 – 1, 200 square feet: Cruden B. V., Amsterdam, Netherlands; www.cruden.com 
1, 200 + square feet: Mack Rides GmbH & Co. KG, Waldkirch, Germany; www.mack-rides.com 

More from this author

Your web browser is out of date. Update your browser for more security, speed and the best experience on this site.

Find out how to update