Skip to main content

The Cornell Theme Park Entertainment Group announces the 2020 Theme Park Design Competition

theme park design competition winner

Zamperla, the Italian ride manufacturer, Jack Rouse Associates (JRA), a leading experience designer, WhiteWater, a leading waterpark manufacturer, CAVU Designwerks Inc, the media-based attractions specialist, and Team Park Project are presenting the annual Theme Park Design Competition.

The Cornell Theme Park Entertainment Group is pleased to announce the 2020 Theme Park Design Competition, presented by WhiteWater, CAVU Designwerks, JRA, Zamperla, and Team Park Project. The annual competition sees students competing for cash prizes, with this year’s prize pool totalling $8,500.

This is the sixth year that the competition has taken place. It features five challenges: Concept Design, Master Planning, Technical Analysis, Innovation, and Development. Teams will be tasked with creating a vision for a new attraction. They must craft theme, technology, and strategy in order to produce professional proposals.

Assessed by experts

The students’ entries will be judged by a panel of experts from within the industry. They will be looking for creativity and feasibility, as well as attention to detail.

Entrants must be currently enrolled in a full-time undergraduate or graduate program at an accredited college or university. Teams can be made up of 2 – 4 participants, who may be studying at different institutions. Interdisciplinary teams are recommended.

Registration is now open and will close on 22 March 2020. For instructions and more information, please visit the website.

2019 winners

A group of students from the University of California, San Diego won the top prize in 2019’s The Park Design Competition, with a project entitled ‘Glacier Gorge’ (pictured, top). The UC San Diego students, Kristy Liou, Nicklas Lee, Matias Ricardo Lee Choi, and Aaron Nhan received $2,000 for their project.

The two runners-up were teams from the Savannah College of Art and Design. ‘Solara’a’ was designed by  Arielle Spencer, Carlos Ginatta, and Emma Oliver. ‘Marvelous Island’ was designed by Maripaz Alfaro, Lauren Bizzigotti, Rachel Fugate, and Jasmine Currey. Each runner-up project received $1,000.

Share this
charlotte coates

Charlotte Coates

Charlotte Coates is blooloop's editor. She is from Brighton, UK and previously worked as a librarian. She has a strong interest in arts, culture and information and graduated from the University of Sussex with a degree in English Literature. Charlotte can usually be found either with her head in a book or planning her next travel adventure.

More from this author

More from this author

Related content

Your web browser is out of date. Update your browser for more security, speed and the best experience on this site.

Find out how to update