Skip to main content

Nominations now open for IAAPA Awards 2019


Do you know an attraction or industry professional worthy of international recognition? Then now is the time to nominate them for an award at this year’s IAAPA Expo in Orlando.

IAAPA LogoDuring IAAPA’s flagship event in November (formerly known as IAAPA Attractions Expo) four groups of awards will be presented. These are the IAAPA Brass Ring Awards, IAAPA Service Awards, IAAPA Hall of Fame Awards and IAAPA Young Professional of the Year Awards.

As well as honouring the pioneers that have dedicated their lives to the industry, the awards also recognise the young professionals likely to lead it in the years to come, in addition to many of the teams already producing projects of excellence.

IAAPA Hall of Fame inductees 2018

Entries and nominations are now open for awards as follows:

IAAPA Brass Ring Awards

The most wide-ranging awards to be presented at IAAPA Expo, they take their name from the rings ‘awarded’ to carousel riders at amusement parks in days gone by. Winners are recognised from theme parks, waterparks, zoos, aquariums, museums, science centres, family entertainment centres and other attractions.

Brass Ring Awards will be presented this year in the following categories: Best New Product, Best Exhibit at IAAPA Expo, Games & Merchandise Excellence, Food & Beverage Excellence, Human Resources Excellence, Live Entertainment Excellence, Marketing Excellence, and Top FEC of the World.

IAAPA Service Awards

Individuals honoured with a service award enrich and enable the attractions community to reach its fullest potential. They are dedicated to IAAPA’s programs and initiatives. Winners in three categories are announced during the GM and Owners’ Breakfast at IAAPA Expo.

Bonnie Weber accepts a Hall of Fame award from 2018 IAAPA chairman Andreas Andersen on behalf of late husband Al Weber Jr

IAAPA Hall of Fame Awards

From George WG Ferris, Walt Disney and Geoffrey Thompson to Puy du Fou‘s Philippe de Villiers and Henri and Pamela Landwirth from Give Kids The World Village, the IAAPA Hall of Fame celebrates extraordinary pioneers. These people have provided innovation, education and leadership that has fuelled the growth of the entire amusement and attractions industry. Nominations can be made for both living industry professionals and posthumously.

IAAPA Young Professional of the Year Award

This award honours the rising stars who embody the qualities of the attractions industry and the mission of IAAPA as a whole. The future of the sector depends on their leadership. To qualify, nominees must be under 35 years of age and employed by an IAAPA-member company or be an individual member of IAAPA through a student or individual membership.

The deadline for Young Professional submissions is July 15. Most other IAAPA award nominations are open until August 2. Click here for more details and to submit your chosen industry achievers.

Share this
Owen Ralph

Owen Ralph

As a Lead Features Writer for blooloop, Owen brings with him two decades of experience covering the amusement and attractions industry for trade publications, including World’s Fair, Coinslot International, Kirmes & Park Revue and Park World, where he spent 15 years as Editor. He is currently a member of the IAAPA EMEA Education Subcommittee.

More from this author

More from this author

Related content

Your web browser is out of date. Update your browser for more security, speed and the best experience on this site.

Find out how to update